Home

Recapping the Sit ‘Em & Start ‘Em suggestions that I made for week two of the 2013 Fantasy Football season.

Follow me on Twitter: @Blackie_Mike

It was a rough week, with only 3 touchdowns from eight players on the Start ‘Em side of the list. I can’t deny that I need to step up and do better next week and each week after. I apologize to anyone who reads my articles and promise to do my best to be better in the coming weeks. Week three Sit ‘Em & Start ‘Em to be posted Thursday.

Start ‘Em:

(OAK) QB Terrelle Pryor vs. (JAC): 15/24 126 yards, 9 rush 50 yards – I have a soft spot in my heart for the Oakland Raiders and perhaps that soft spot is what let me use Pryor in this list. Cutler and Rivers seemed to obvious but would have made my start ‘em list look a bit better. Pryor has potential to have some quality fantasy games going forward  but has a lot of competition with good pocket passers such as Flacco, Schaub, (Tannehill anyone?) and the two mentioned previously.

(GB) RB Eddie Lacy vs. (WAS): 1 rush 10 yards – Lacy was forced to leave the game early in the first quarter after receiving a brutal, and illegal hit from Brandon Meriweather, whom has now been suspended and has a history of questionable hits. In his absence, veteran Packer James Starks rushed the ball 20 times for 122 yards and a score, gah. If you own Eddie Lacy you had best be putting in claim for Lacy.

(NO) RB Darren Sproles vs. (TB): 7 rush 26 yards, 6 catch 36 yards – Sproles has a good track record against the Buccs but was unable find the end zone this time around and only had 62 total yards. Disappointing yes, but I still like Sproles as a flex on a weekly basis.

(CAR) RB DeAngelo Williams vs. (BUF): 22 rush 85 yards – Lots of touches again for Williams, and 85 yards isn’t bad at all, but again was unable to find pay dirt. The Panthers are off to a slow start once again which doesn’t bode well for the running game, as the team is often playing catch up or in a tight game. The Giants in week three could be a good game for Williams but after that he has some pretty tough match ups.

(DET) RB Joique Bell vs. (ARI): 8 rush 31 yards, 5 catch 41 yards – Similar effort to that of Darren Sproles above, 72 totals yards but did not find the end zone. I had Arizona winning on my pools ticket but thought it would be a higher scoring game between these two offenses. The good news for anyone who has Joique Bell is the Reggie Bush injury and the potential for more playing time.

(KC) WR Dwayne Bowe vs. (DAL): 4 catch 56 yards, TD – Only 4 catches for 56 yards on the day but a touchdown made for a decent effort from Bowe. I will admit that I was hoping for closer to 100 yards with the score from Bowe. I am starting to doubt how many 100-yard efforts Bowe will have this season with Alex Smith as his quarterback.

(WAS) WR Pierre Garcon vs. (GB): 8 catch 143 yards, TD – The Redskins got smoked but it worked out nicely for Garcon owners as he hauled in a ton of yardage and a TD in the second half in a vain comeback attempt. I like Garcon going forward; he will be needed by Griffin in games like this and will be a key part of the offence should they pick things up.

(CAR) WR Steve Smith vs. (BUF): 5 catch 52 yards – This was a pretty disappointing result for me as Smith was targeted a team high 11 times but only caught five of them for 52 yards. Teammates Ginn Jr. and Greg Olsen were each targeted 8 times and were able to haul in touchdowns. Smith burned me last year as I thought he would score more touchdowns than his four total. This year I am going to give him and the Panthers another week or two to get things going before I put him on my bench. The Giants secondary should be a great chance for Smith to cash in big.

(DEN) TE Julius Thomas vs. (NYG): 6 catch 47 yards, TD – Another touchdown in week two for Thomas only helps solidify him as a weekly starter at the tight end position (a position looking much stronger than last year, even with Gronk out). With the Denver offence rolling the way it is I would have Thomas in my lineup every week unless I had someone like Graham or Gonzo.

Sit ‘Em:

(CIN) QB Andy Dalton vs. (PIT) – 25/45 280 yards, TD, 3 rush 10 yards – Despite the win I heard a lot of people criticizing Dalton following his performance on Monday night, in which he missed on several passes that would have given him, and a few teammates better stat lines. I am starting to agree with the idea that the Bengals are possibly being held back by Dalton. Nonetheless, he has some awesome weapons and will be startable in many weeks.

(SF) RB Frank Gore vs. (SEA) – 9 rush 16 yards, 1 catch 14 yards – I’m sure most people saw Seattle dominate the 49’ers on Monday Sunday night, only allowing 3 points in the game. This was one of few Sit ‘Em weeks of Gore as e plays behind one of the best offensive lines in football.

(NYJ) RB Bilal Powell vs. (NE) – 13 rush 48 yards, TD – Not a bad day for Ballard as he was able to get to double digits thanks to the score, but his day could have been even better if not for Chris Ivory getting 12 carries himself for 52 yards. When I watch the two players, I view Ivory as the better runner but his injury history scares me. The Bills next week is a winnable game for the Jets, as both teams are struggling, while over achieving at the same time.

(IND) RB Vick Ballard vs. (MIA): Did not play due to injury – With Ballard out Bradshaw for 15 carries and was able to take advantage for 65 yards and a score against a very stout Miami defence. If getting at least 15 carries per game, Bradshaw is worthy to have on the roster, acting as a flex and RB2 replacement if needed.

(ATL) WR Roddy White vs. (STL): 3 catch 21 yards – Not much to say here, he warned us himself. Next week could be a tough call as well as the Falcons get a Miami secondary that can certainly be beat, but how effective will Roddy be?

(MIA) WR Mike Wallace vs. (IND): 9 catch 115 yards, TD – Bad for my sit ‘em list but very good for my Dolphins! Walace was very active on Sunday caching 9 total balls on the day to go with a 18-yard screen play for a touchdown. My big concern with Wallace is that Tannehill seems to be reading the coverage well and going to the open man, which today was Wallace but won’t always be going forward; boom or bust potential basically.

(TEN) WR Kenny Britt vs. (HOU) – 4 catches 28 yards – Another disappointing performance from Kenny Britt who was targeted less times than second year receiver Kendall Wright who had 7 catches for 54 yards and a touchdown. Still though, I am buying low on Kenny Britt and still think he can be effective eventually as a flex player with high upside; I am getting impatient though.

(CIN) TE Gresham / Eifert vs. (PIT) – 6 catch 66 yards, 3 catch 66 yards – The main takeaway for me regarding these two tight ends is that Eifert looks every bit as talented as I heard during the pre season. I think it is only a mater of time before the targets start to favour Eifert more and more.

Leave a Reply

